How to be Extraordinary

Featured image from Instagram @isabellaboylston

This time last year, I had an opportunity to watch Isabella Boylston –ABT principal dancer– perform in Twyla Tharp’s In the Upper Room. The ballet is tremendously demanding and she was so effortless and perfect. It was breathtaking. I watched in awe as she displayed her artistry. We, the audience, were irretrievably pulled into her performance. It was mesmerizing. She earned her standing ovation.

That gorgeous performance stayed with me. All great performances do. I asked myself, why was that so extraordinary? In a way, it’s not possible to articulate exactly why something is extraordinary. Isabella has that certain something that makes a person a star. Her lines, extensions and technique are exquisite. She connects like a laser with the audience. Some of those attributes are blessings but make no mistake they were painstakingly cultivated over time.

The part that is perhaps attainable — or rather accessible to all dancers, is the dedication to ballet conditioning. Without world class conditioning, it would be nearly impossible to dance that ballet well – never mind flawlessly. It dawned on me that one can only dance freely, literally losing oneself (and in turn pulling in the audience) by being physically strong enough to carry oneself through the piece.

This revelation brought to mind another great ballet idol, the French dancer, Sylvie Guillem.

Sylvie’s iconic performance in William Forsythe’s In the Middle Somewhat Elevated is modern ballet perfection. It is a piece I return to time and time again when I want to watch extraordinary ballet.

I love Sylvie’s command of the movements and her precision. She –like Isabella, is blessed with the perfect ballet physique. Both dancers move with power, precision and fluidity. They know exactly when and where in the “box” a movement begins, reaches it extension and ends. Their timing and position is flawless. Their transitions are seamless. I could watch them for days. And, both performances demonstrate an incredible physical conditioning level that makes them super human and as a result, effortless and ethereal.

I placed links below — unfortunately, I don’t have a long video of Isabella. This is the ABT promo, but it will show you a glimpse into perfection and you really should make it a point to see her dance in person.

The Sylvie Guillem video is not great quality but that doesn’t make it any less extraordinary. I wish I could have seen her in dance in person!

And lastly, here are a few pictures from that night in New York. It was magical.

I hope you enjoyed the post and you feel inspired to focus on your ballet conditioning. Please subscribe to the blog and follow me on Instagram @the balletomane .

Happy dancing!

Leave a comment